About Seneca
Healthcare District

Seneca Healthcare District was formed in 1947 as an independent special district to meet the needs of our rural community. The hospital opened the doors to patients in 1954. The Skilled Nursing Facility admitted the first patient in 1976. The hospital based rural health clinic was built in 1996. SHD received Critical Access Hospital designation in 2007. SHD is a non-profit governmental entity supported by tax dollars.

Group of doctors and nurses walking

Healthcare for the Community

It is our mission at Seneca Healthcare District to provide our community members and visitors with outstanding health care services and quality care through dedicated and compassionate staff, providers, and innovative technology.

Learn More


Get to know our Board of Directors, Leadership Team, and Management Team.

Leadership & Management

Shawn McKenzie
Chief Executive Officer

Judith Cline
Chief Nursing Officer

Steve Boline
Chief Financial Officer

Agendas & Minutes

Stay up to date on past and future Board Meetings

Financial Reports

Easily access current financial reports and policies


What Auxiliary does and how to get involved


Kenneth Crandall Tresurer
Local heroes abound!  As the Lake Almanor basin confronts the Covid-19 virus, the staff and providers at Seneca Healthcare District represent the best in our community. Their efforts to prepare and respond to this challenge reflects their true dedication, professionalism and personal sacrifice in service to others.

Ken Crandall
Board President
Andrea Kelly Dietary
I have been working at Seneca Hospital for a little over 6 years. The wonderful people I work with are not just fellow staff members, they are family who love and care for each other. They extend that love and care to our patients and their families.

Andrea Kelly
Dietary Services Supervisor
Kacie Broussard House Supervisor
I was born in this hospital and it’s refreshing to work here so many years later in a supportive environment that understands the importance of family!

Kacie Broussard